comment 0

Brinner and Cookies

photo 1 photo

Living alone in NYC has been an incredible luxury. I knew it meant giving up things like vacations, fancy dinners, happy hours with co-workers and $15 mojitos (ya know, normal NYC life things) but it was worth it to me to finally have my own space. I found my perfectly acceptable little one- bedroom apartment in a neighborhood on the outskirts of Brooklyn gentrification and dug my heels in among the West Indians and Orthodox Jews.

One day recently, my very long-term boyfriend, J.,  brought over several bags of clothes and I recognized this as a formal declaration that he was moving in. His video games are here, his work and play clothes are here and last night he even made dinner.. and by dinner I mean tuna fish sandwiches.

I don’t mean to sound like this is a problem, although by avoiding saying he lives here now he has also avoided telling me which bills he will pay. On the contrary, folks, I am thrilled. My foot-dragging man friend has finally taken a step forward! So what did I do in an effort to ensure he didn’t grab his bags and head back out the door? I made brinner and cookies, obviously. The brinner (breakfast for dinner-duh) was nothing new or exciting- some bacon, some fried eggs and a simple potato hash. These cookies though? They were worth all four ingredients. Yup. Four ingredients. It is my expert opinion that these oatmeal fluffernutter cookies are well-rounded breakfast item. They are crumbly and a little ugly but they are simple and delicious.  (also: I hereby promise to never ever use the word “delish” on this blog. Alexis will bombard you with it enough)

Oatmeal Fluffernutter Cookies (adapted from this recipe)

photo 2

  • 1 cup peanut butter (I suggest you use  the sugary stuff, not natural- but either will do)
  • 1 cup marshmallow creme
  • 1 large egg
  • 2/3 cup of old fashioned oats (if you don’t like the consistency of oats in your cookies you can pulse the oats in a food processor a few times to break them down)

 

photo 3

Directions:

  1. Preheat over to 350 and cover cookie sheet with parchment paper
  2. In medium sized mixing bowl, mix peanut butter and egg together until creamy
  3. Add in oats and stir until oats are incorporated
  4. Mix in marshmallow fluff lightly. You don’t want it fully incorporated- treat it like a swirl
  5. Use tablespoon or melon baller to scoop on to cookie sheet
  6. Bake 12-15 minutes. Let cool completely before eating (with a cold glass of milk)

Turns out J. hates peanut butter cookies, so ladies, obviously you should continue to look to me on how to keep your man. I’m knocking it out of the park over here.

Also, I am a feminist.

xx nicole.

Leave a Reply

